2019 Sarah Ida Shaw Award
Leadership, News | March 3, 2019

Congratulations to our 2019 Sarah Ida Shaw Award recipient, Baily Martin, Alabama. As a senior member in Delta Mu Chapter at the University of Alabama, Baily’s loyalty to Tri Delta is evident in the numerous officer positions she has held to lead her chapter, including collegiate chapter president, academic development chair, recruitment preference day chair and collegiate alumnae relations chair. “I want to use the skills I have honed as a member to give back to the sorority, the campus, the community, the nation and the world,” said Baily.

Baily has maintained a 4.037 GPA with a triple major in international studies, political science and Spanish – all while participating in several academic organizations, associations, programs and committees on and around her campus. This includes serving as an official student ambassador for Capstone Men and Women where she was one of 36 students chosen to assist the University President’s Office during numerous functions, and being a member of the Blackburn Institute, a leadership development and civic engagement program focused on improving the state of Alabama.

One of the faculty members from the University of Alabama spoke of Baily’s character. “On a daily basis, Baily exhibits a passion for serving others and for making positive changes in the mindsets and habits of the students, faculty and staff at this university. She works selflessly to bring others together for good, and her strong character and civic spirit are visible to all who meet her. She truly models the ideals of truth, self-sacrifice and friendship for her Delta Mu sisters and everyone she encounters at UA and beyond.”

“As I near the end of my time in the University of Alabama’s beloved Tri Delta house, I am sad to leave, but I know that brave, bold and kind women representing Tri Delta’s values and Purpose surround me and will continue to make Sarah Ida Shaw proud,” said Baily.

Runners Up

First Runner-up, Amanda Carver
As a senior member of Theta Delta Chapter at the University of Oregon, Amanda Carver is a double major in communication disorders and sciences and psychology. She has been on the University of Oregon’s Dean’s List seven times. She is involved in numerous academic and campus organizations, including Order of Omega, National Student Speech Language Hearing Association and Psychology Peer Advising and has served as vice president of recruitment for the university’s Panhellenic Council.

Amanda has served her chapter in numerous positions, including vice president of chapter development, vice president of finance, and as a member of the internal philanthropy committee, Bid Day committee, nominating committee and the biennium Ritual Committee. “The values of Tri Delta will continue to guide my life beyond my collegiate years,” said Amanda. “I have been deeply impacted by the Rituals and Purpose of this organization, as well as the women who surround me.”



Second Runner-up, Faith Wolfard
Faith Wolfard is a senior member of Theta Gamma Chapter at the University of Oklahoma and is a biology pre-med major. Faith was one of 12 upperclassmen to receive the Big Woman on Campus Award for her academic excellence, campus involvement and community service. She was also one of 10 seniors to be selected for the University of Oklahoma’s oldest honorary society, PE-ET Top 10 Honor Society, for exhibiting the highest ability in scholarship, leadership and original work among the men and women on her campus.

Faith has served her chapter in numerous officer positions including collegiate chapter president and director of ceremonies and Rituals. She spoke of her experience in Tri Delta: “I will graduate as a confident woman who has been empowered to step boldly into my next chapter of life because I have been forever changed by this particular stop in my journey and the friendships I have gained along the way.”



Third Runner-up, Beth Cunningham
As a senior member of Phi Epsilon Chapter at the University of Southern Mississippi, Beth Cunningham is a double major in media production and advertising. She is involved in a number of academic and campus organizations, including: Order of Omega where she served as vice president in 2018, Phi Eta Sigma Honor Society and College Panhellenic Council.

Beth has also served her chapter as collegiate chapter president, new member educator and risk management chair. When asked what her favorite Tri Delta symbol is, Beth shared that it was the three stars in our badge – that stand for Truth, Self-Sacrifice and Friendship – summing up her Tri Delta experience.

High Honors

Caelyn Gessler, Jacksonville
Brielle Kolpin, Coe

Honorable Mentions

Almarie Brennan, Clemson
Ashleigh Brill, Iowa
Wynter Daggs, California/Berkeley
Megan Farny, Butler
Lauren Hood, Furman
Marisa Marseille, Illinois State
Hailey Nelson, Vermont
Megan Powell, Franklin
Elaine Renberg, Baylor

Recognized as the stars of our collegiate chapters, Sarah Ida Shaw Award nominees are known for their personal integrity and devotion to Tri Delta. These women are outstanding scholars and brave, bold and kind leaders who are living Tri Delta’s values and Purpose. This year, all 141 of Tri Delta’s collegiate chapters honored a member by submitting a nomination! Click here to view a list of nominees.


Seeking Tri Delta Writers for Volunteer Editorial Team

Tri Delta is looking for a few good writers to serve on the inaugural Volunteer Editorial Team. Collegiate and alumnae members with a passion for writing and journalism encouraged to apply!


Tri Delta's Day of Giving